LEO traffic stop and getting "outed"

This is a discussion on LEO traffic stop and getting "outed" within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; OK so I have been carrying for a few months and haven't run into this problem but was just thinking about it. Say I'm in ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: LEO traffic stop and getting "outed"

OK so I have been carrying for a few months and haven't run into this problem but was just thinking about it. Say I'm in a car with some friends and I get pulled over for a traffic stop (I know- don't speed and drive careful). I'm required in MN to declare that I have a permit to carry. My problem is I don't want my friends to know I carry and this would "out" me. Also I work with teens and REALLY don't want them to know....... Any thoughts?

Dump your friends and quit your job.

Seriously, though, it sounds like you can either NOT carry when driving with friends, not carry at all, or just cross that bridge when you come to it and insist that your friends honor your "secret." Best you can hope for. If the possibility of friends and the kids you work with finding out is disturbing or a big problem, surely you considered these things before you applied, didn't you?

I'd follow the law.
    Les Baer 45
    Sig Man
    N.R.A. Patron Life Member
    M.C.R.G.O.

Handing your CCW along with your drivers license to the officer (CCW on top) and a simple "I do have it with me" should suffice without raising too much suspicion of your friends. If he asks where it is there's no way to keep it subtle (unless the answer is "glove box", etc) - and if your friends don't like it they can walk home.

my 2c.

I have wondered this myself. I have a small note folded in half around my permit and it say's: "Please be discrete as I do not want passengers to know. Will talk to you personally if need be"...have never had to use it, yet...so don't know if it would work.