COLUMBUS, Ohio – For those who obtained a permit to carry a concealed weapon when the law was first passed, it could be time to renew.
According to the most recent numbers provided by the attorney general's office, more than 80,000 Ohioans now have their concealed carry permit, NBC 4's Mike Jackson reported. About 4,300 of those are in Franklin County.
Nearly four years after the concealed weapon law went into effect, Franklin County Chief Deputy Steve Martin said that safety concerns held by some opponents of the law at its inception have turned out to be untrue.
"It's worked well," he said. "We've had very few problems…"
Some permit holders, however, need to be aware of an important date coming up. Permits issued in the first year of the law will soon begin expiring.
Carrying a concealed weapon with an expired permit is a felony, so it's very important to make sure that the permit is current.
Renewal costs $55.
Permit holders can reapply up to 90 before their permit expires or up to 30 days after. After those 30 days have passed, the former permit holder will have to retake classes.
The classes can cost between $150 and $300. New licenses will not expire for 5 years, Jackson reported.