Where is situational awareness difficult?

This is a discussion on Where is situational awareness difficult? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been carrying for 4 years now--long enough to feel comfortable with it, and not need to monitor myself by checking in the mirror, adjusting ...

I've been carrying for 4 years now--long enough to feel comfortable with it, and not need to monitor myself by checking in the mirror, adjusting my clothes or belt, or developing any of the other "tells" of CCW such as wearing "gunny" clothes, and always carrying things with my weak-side hand (I try to balance 50-50 my left and right, and figure if I'm attacked that anything strong-side gets dropped or thrown in aggressor's face). Like most here I don't act macho, or walk that "I'm-carrying swagger", and feel I blend in to most situations without standing out. Competent but invisible/easily overlooked is my MO.

I also try to maintain situational awareness in whatever circumstances I find myself. Some circumstances are more difficult than others, but as least I try to have a general sense of what's going on around me, what is getting closer, possible threats, etc. without LOOKING like I am exercising situational awareness (I've seen the guys on constant alert around town and naturally assume [right or wrong] that they're carrying and making a show of alertness).

I feel practicing unobtrusive scanning is making me better--better aware and less obvious at the same time. That said, some circumstances are more difficult to maintain this awareness than others. For example, vacuuming the car at the car wash is tough to do while remaining alert, but not to the point that I look like I'm on "high alert". There's a balance between being alert enough to know what is approaching, and not looking like a prairie dog by frequently poking my head up to scan my environment. It's tough, especially on a crowded day.