CCW When Getting Home

CCW When Getting Home

This is a discussion on CCW When Getting Home within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm currently using my wife's Bersa T380 in a Desanti Pocket Holster in my leather coat as my CCW for the time being till I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CCW When Getting Home

CCW When Getting Home

I'm currently using my wife's Bersa T380 in a Desanti Pocket Holster in my leather coat as my CCW for the time being till I pick up my XD9sc. The whole "in the coat" concealment works quite well, as I'm still new to carrying and still getting a "feel" for it.

I plan on using a OWB concealment holster for the XD, or a IWB when I drop a few more pounds, but I'm having some trouble deciding what to do with the pocket holster set-up when I come home for the day.

Leave it in the coat? (not a very safe practice)
    Take it out? - then where to put it?

I have 2 boys (15 & 11) who've been sucessfully "de-wow'd" to the concept of dad carrying and guns in general, so I'm not overly concerned & I trust them - they know the rules about guns - I'm not fully comfortable with just setting the thing on top of the fridge or out in the open, visable to others who might happen to see it. (seen that done)
    I have been securing it in the master bedroom back in the handgun safe then getting it again if I go out, or just putting it into my jeans pocket when home, till I go to bed then it's in the nightstand.

So how do the rest of you address this?

1. Manage to carry it with you at all times till bedtime?
    2. If you do "set-it-somewhere" where? how? what works?

Just curious

Thanks
    XD9sc w/CT Laser Grip
    SIGSauer P226SCT (New! w/22lr Conversion)
    S&W 5906
    BERETTA 92FS
    BERSA T380 - RUGER Single Six .22