Give Me Your Thoughts

This is a discussion on Give Me Your Thoughts within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Sitting in my hotel room with nothing better to do when I had a "thought".................. I am a pilot for a large jet charter company. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Give Me Your Thoughts

Give Me Your Thoughts

Sitting in my hotel room with nothing better to do when I had a "thought"..................

I am a pilot for a large jet charter company. My travels take me all over the United States. Of course I DO NOT carry while at work. It is impossible for me to keep up with the rules of the various states on informing a LEO of my CCW. Also I have not committed to memory those states where my permit is honored. So my plan is if ever stopped I will present my CCW along with my DL regardless of the requirement to do so.

That having been said, lets say for the sake of discussion that I am in a gun unfriendly state or a state that does not honor my permit. Is my plan flawed? Am I going to open a big can of worms?

I would think saying "look officer, I don't know if my state permit is honored here or if I am even required to present this to you in (insert state name here) but here it is and I am not carrying a weapon" would not be a bad thing.

My main concern is not informing the officer that I am a permit holder and having it show up when my DL is run.

What do you think?

2. Remove Ads

If you are not carrying, I see no reason to inform the officer that you have a permit.....jmho.....

Quote Originally Posted by Wizard1500 View Post
    If you are not carrying, I see no reason to inform the officer that you have a permit.....jmho.....
    They will find out you have a permit when they run your license...If i was a LEO I'd much rather find out when standing next to you watching you than walking back up to your car wondering if you're armed...

Senior Member Array HowardCohodas's Avatar