Traffic stop by LEO - offer up CCW Permit?

This is a discussion on Traffic stop by LEO - offer up CCW Permit? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to this forum and I have a lot of questions. This is one of them.... I have been carrying a Glock 30 ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Traffic stop by LEO - offer up CCW Permit?

I am new to this forum and I have a lot of questions. This is one of them....

I have been carrying a Glock 30 for a couple years now and have never been stopped for a traffic offense by LEO. However, if I was to be stopped for say..., speeding or something like that..., should I volunteer the information to the police officer that I have a CCW Permit and have a loaded weapon on my person?

I have read a few articles concerning this situation and have noted that it is also very important in the manner and and terminology of how you present this information to the LEO. "I have a gun" is normally not the type of thing police officers like to hear.

Does anyone have experience with this type of situation or advise on how to respond at a traffic stop?

jp

For speeding, no, never. Nor for many other things, for that matter. Two reasons: Your firearm has nothing to do with the alleged violation. And the mention of a gun might/will spook a LEO very unnecessarily.
    The question will almost never ever come up except when the officer asks, sir, is there anything in the car that I should know about, and that is almost always after you are on your way to being handcuffed anyway.
    Short of that, for speeding or for any other reason? Never should mention it. Naturally if it is on the front passenger seat as some states allow, then when he or she walks up, right away say something. Otherwise, never.
    Not because you don't have to, but because there is no reason for it.