non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other? - Page 2

non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other?

This is a discussion on non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; No range time for my Utah CCW, only a morning's lecture, prints, photo, and $....

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other?

  1. #16
    VIP Member Array AZ Husker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    4,244
    No range time for my Utah CCW, only a morning's lecture, prints, photo, and $.
    Treat me good, I'll treat you better. Treat me bad, I'll treat you worse.


  2. #17
    VIP Member Array JerryM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,020
    For list of states which honor other states go to
    Handgunlaw.us
    Click on the left side "Who honors my permit."

    Best,
    Jerry

  3. #18
    Senior Member Array AirForceShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,155
    Florisa CCW is 5 years unless Charlie had signed the bill that would extend to period to 7 years.
    I can't find where he did sign it, but he will.

    No you can't have Charlie for VP. We need him here

    AFS
    Gun control is hitting what you aim at

  4. #19
    Senior Moderator
    Array MattInFla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    4,857
    Quote Originally Posted by cvhoss View Post
    That may be because everything I can find indicates that Tennessee does not issue non-resident permits.


    Matt -- you missed one. Unless they've changed, South Carolina also does not recognize non-resident issue permits.

    Hoss
    As of right now, the Florida CWFL site does not list SC as accepting any Florida permit. I understand that this may be changing in the very near future.

    Matt
    Battle Plan (n) - a list of things that aren't going to happen if you are attacked.
    Blame it on Sixto - now that is a viable plan.

  5. #20
    Senior Moderator
    Array MattInFla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    4,857
    Quote Originally Posted by miklcolt45 View Post
    Steve,

    This is inaccurate. By FL law cannot keep a list, therefore they cannot make it public.
    And the CWFL list is specifically exempted from Florida's sunshine laws. We can thank WFTV TV for that - they published a list of central Florida CWFL holders on their website.

    And removed it within hours as they got a torrent of unhappy phone calls and emails.

    The good side - their irresponsible reporting was the catalyst for the Florida legislature to exempt the CWFL holder list.

    Matt
    Battle Plan (n) - a list of things that aren't going to happen if you are attacked.
    Blame it on Sixto - now that is a viable plan.

  6. #21
    Senior Member Array rmarkob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    535
    A UT non-res permit will allow a PA resident to carry in two more states than a FL permit - WA and MN.

    The FL permit technically allows carry in KS, which UT does not, but KS only recognizes permits for residents of the issuing state, so it won't help a PA resident.

    It's true UT requires training by a UT-certified instructor, but they're all over the country, and a PDF listing is available on the UT BCI site. The UT permit is also cheaper than FL's, and renewal is cheaper as well.
    Clinging to guns and God in PA...

  7. #22
    New Member Array thrushl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1
    I too am in the Military and UT requires a formal class from an UT approved instructor INCLUDING range time. Not a big deal - any excuse to shoot is a good one. Good for five years.

  8. #23
    Member Array ltc-usa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ut
    Posts
    437
    I have UT and FL (AZ too) and I intend to keep all. The good thing about UT (last I remember) was $10 and a photo for renewal for 5 years. No prints.

  9. #24
    Member Array Wilhelm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by AirForceShooter View Post
    Florisa CCW is 5 years unless Charlie had signed the bill that would extend to period to 7 years.
    I can't find where he did sign it, but he will.
    He must've signed it, because I just got mine today and it's good for seven years.

  10. #25
    VIP Member Array HKinNY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nassau, NY(Long Island)
    Posts
    2,855
    I have a collection of CCW from Utah, Florida,Maine,PA,CT,NH, and Nassau County (Long Island) NY. Working on NYC next. I also collect Non-drivers Id from Florida, Nevada, AZ.

  11. #26
    New Member Array indicium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    atlanta, ga
    Posts
    10
    Florida now offers a 7 year license for those issued after June 11, 2008 and and made its CCW list private in 2006.
    Here in metro Atlanta Georgia we only have two eligilble Utah instructors and the charge is about $200 for the class which includes photo and prints then you have to pay the $62.50 in addition versus $117 total for Florida. I'm thinking of going with FL as it offers the states I want more than Utah.

  12. #27
    Member Array Bacon08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by thrushl View Post
    I too am in the Military and UT requires a formal class from an UT approved instructor INCLUDING range time. Not a big deal - any excuse to shoot is a good one. Good for five years.
    There is NO range time required for the Utah ccw permit. just a 4 hour class.

  13. #28
    Member Array Bacon08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22
    In accordance with U.C.A. 76-10-523, Utah will honor a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by another state or county.

    Although there are many states that will recognize the Utah concealed firearm permit, the State of Utah has formal reciprocity with the following states

    Alabama Alaska Colorado Florida Georgia
    Louisiana Mississippi New Hampshire North Carolina North Dakota
    Ohio Pennsylvania South Dakota Texas Virginia
    Washington State West Virginia


    The following states recognize the Utah concealed firearm permit.

    Arizona Arkansas Delaware Idaho Indiana
    Kentucky Michigan Minnesota Missouri Montana
    Nevada New Mexico Oklahoma Tennessee Vermont
    Wyoming


    The following states DO NOT recognize the Utah concealed firearm permit.

    California Connecticut Hawaii Illinois Iowa
    Kansas Maine Maryland Massachusetts Nebraska
    New Jersey New York Oregon Rhode Island South Carolina
    Wisconsin




    Updated June 9, 2008.

  14. #29
    Member Array Bacon08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    22
    FLORIDA'S RECIPROCITY STATES
    Alabama (1,3,5)
    Alaska (1)
    Arizona (6,7)
    Arkansas (1)
    Colorado (1,4)
    Delaware
    Georgia (1)
    Idaho (3,6)
    Indiana (1,3,6)
    Kansas (1,4)
    Kentucky
    Louisiana (1)
    Michigan (1,4)
    Mississippi (1)
    Missouri (1)
    Montana (3)
    Nevada (1,6)
    New Hampshire (1,3,4,6)
    New Mexico (1)
    North Carolina (1)
    North Dakota (3,6)
    Ohio (1)
    Oklahoma (1)
    Pennsylvania (1,6)
    South Dakota (1,3)
    Tennessee (1,6)
    Texas (1,3,6)
    Utah (1,6)
    Vermont (2)
    Virginia (1,6)
    West Virginia (1,4)
    Wyoming (1,3)

  15. #30
    Member Array DarinD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Franklin County, PA
    Posts
    156
    The following site is great for comparing permits and the reciprocity for each.

    Handgunlaw.us

    If this was previously covered, I do apologize.
    Life is too short, stop to smell the roses and don't let anyone take it away from you!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Florida permit reciprocity?
    By 1911luver in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: May 27th, 2010, 04:50 AM
  2. Out of State Permit and Reciprocity, what do you think?
    By archimeech in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: March 26th, 2010, 06:02 PM
  3. Valid non-resident NH permit and expired TX permit
    By BenGoodLuck in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 8th, 2010, 01:50 PM
  4. Temp permit came Friday going to get the reg permit Monday
    By boradriver in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: February 9th, 2010, 10:23 PM
  5. Reciprocity glitch for ccw within 1000' of school grounds with permit
    By ccWV in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 28th, 2006, 07:59 AM

Search tags for this page

ccw permit with most reciprocity

,
ccw with most reciprocity
,

concealed carry permit with most reciprocity

,
concealed carry permit with the most reciprocity
,

state with most concealed carry reciprocity

,

state with most reciprocity

,
what state has the most ccw reciprocity
,

what state has the most concealed carry reciprocity

,
what state has the most reciprocity
,
what state has the most reciprocity for ccw
,
which state has the most ccw reciprocity
,

which state has the most reciprocity

Click on a term to search for related topics.