non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other?

This is a discussion on non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey there! Long story short. I am a PA resident with a PA permit. I would like to apply for a non-res permit with another ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other?

non-res permit with most reciprocity? UT, FL, or other?

Hey there!

Long story short. I am a PA resident with a PA permit. I would like to apply for a non-res permit with another state to get the maximum ammount of states w/ reciprocity. I was thinking UT or FL, as clicking around on handgunlaw.us it seems they have the most ammount of states that honor their permits, is there another I should consider? Both states (UT and FL) still offer non-res permits correct? Is there a reason, beyond the few state reciprocity differences (MN, KS, ect) to go with one over another?

Anyone know how long UT permits are good for? FL permits are good for 7 years (as per their site) so that seems like a good reason to go with a FL permit.

Thanks a lot for any help!

2. Remove Ads

Depends on your state. In AZ, the Utah permit offered a better coverage. Nice thing about Utah, it's only a half-day lecture with nothing else. Good for five years.
    Treat me good, I'll treat you better. Treat me bad, I'll treat you worse.

I am in the military, so I think the neccesity of proving proficiency with firearms is waved.

Any idea of how long a UT permit is good for?

Senior Moderator
    Beware, though, that not every state that recognizes a FL CWFL issued to a Florida resident recognizes one issued to a non-resident.

Florida, for example, recognizes the following permits for residents of there states, but not non-resident permits issued by these states:

Arizona
    Idaho
    Indiana
    Nevada
    New Hampshire
    North Dakota