FL Non-Res Acceptable Training Documentation?

This is a discussion on FL Non-Res Acceptable Training Documentation? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I just received the application and instructions today for Florida's CCW and need some suggestions on training documentation to send them. I have never gone ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FL Non-Res Acceptable Training Documentation?

I just received the application and instructions today for Florida's CCW and need some suggestions on training documentation to send them.

I have never gone through a Hunter Safety course of any kind nor had and formal training or participated in any formal competion. What would be the fastest, cheapest way to get a form of documentation that will satisfy Florida’s requirements?

I am new to all this so I may be "talking out of school". I would imagine any NRA approved instructor would meet the criteria.

Check you local gun shows

I took a short course offerred at a gun show. We then drove to a nearby range and performed the live fire. Less than four hours including time spent filling out paperwork.

I'm curious too. I've got a bunch of training through work and related... nothing with diplomas or certificates, etc. But I can document my training with signatures form my instructors.
    "Wise people learn when they can; fools learn when they must." - The Duke of Wellington

Senior Member Array bluelineman's Avatar
    I would suggest an NRA course, or hunter safety course. Military training (copy of DD 214) satisfies the requirement as well.

hmm i went here Find A Local NRA Safety Course and searched my area for NRA courses. They want $230 for basic firearm training or what they call "First Steps". That's a little bit steep for me. I haven't looked into DNR Hunters Saftey courses yet...

Quote Originally Posted by Chris Dawg View Post