Maryland CCW

Maryland CCW

This is a discussion on Maryland CCW within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Do former/retired police officers automatically qualify for a CCW in Maryland if they are moving there? If you've been employed under 15 years you're not ...

Thread: Maryland CCW

mf [OP]

Maryland CCW

Do former/retired police officers automatically qualify for a CCW in Maryland if they are moving there?

If you've been employed under 15 years you're not covered by LEOSA.

Senior Member Array TheGreatGonzo's Avatar
    Not only do they not get them automatically, they don't get them period. Being retired law enforcement is not considered "justifiable need" by the State of Maryland. When I was a cop in Maryland, I had a buddy who was a state certified police officer working for a specialized agency that prohibited off-duty carry. He tried to get a permit from the State Police and it was denied. And he was an actual, working, state certified cop. So, I'm afraid retired guys who don't qualify under LEOSA are out-of-luck.
    Gonzo
    "Skin that smokewagon!".

I have been debating for the last year to make a move to Maryland to be closer to family but I would like the option of being able to carry if I do so. I am going up in the summer of 2009 and trying to become a seasonal officer in Ocean City to see how I like it. Do you have to "know" somebody to be able to get a permit? Or do you need a really good reason like somebody is trying to kill you? If all else fails, I'll just move to Virginia lol
    Springfield 1911A1, Ruger GP100 .357 mag, Glock 17, Ruger Vaquero .44 mag

mf [OP]
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGreatGonzo View Post