Shooting legal Fees

This is a discussion on Shooting legal Fees within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Since this seems to always be a hot topic, does anyone have specific knowledge of someone being involved in a justified shooting going through the ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Shooting legal Fees

Shooting legal Fees

Since this seems to always be a hot topic, does anyone have specific knowledge of someone being involved in a justified shooting going through the entire event with no legal fees, regardless of what the State says your civil liability is?

It seems a lot of folks say that if your State states your are not liable for injuries to someone committing a crime, then you have zero worries in a shooting. Since the State of Ohio just changed that law, I am of the belief that regardless what Ohio says, I will incur legal fees to prove that I fall under the State law. Not being a lawyer, I ultimately have no idea, just wondered if anyone had more than a personal opinion.

2. Remove Ads

good question, im curious as well
    when I leave this Earth, It's gonna be on both feet; NEVER KNEES IN THE DIRT

Maybe no criminal charges, BUT there is always the possible civil suit brought against you by the person you shot or their family. As I understand it the Supreme court said the state does not have the authority to deprive someone their day in court.

South Carolina

A person who lawfully uses deadly force is immune from criminal prosecution and civil action, unless the person against whom deadly force was used is a law enforcement officer acting in the performance of his official duties and he identifies himself in accordance with applicable law or the person using deadly force knows or reasonably should have known the person is a law enforcement officer.

Ed

Quote Originally Posted by gdog View Post