Should I carry a mini-cannon?

This is a discussion on Should I carry a mini-cannon? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; A very good friend of mine is a millwright by trade, which is why I believe he tends to "overbuild" things beyond what I would ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Should I carry a mini-cannon?

A very good friend of mine is a millwright by trade, which is why I believe he tends to "overbuild" things beyond what I would think is necessary for the job it is intended to preform. If I were to ask him to weld up a small hibachi grill for camping, he would probably make it out of 1/2" plate steel with a miniature nuclear reactor power plant to drive the 36" bellows fan needed to stoke the charcoal to 2200F.

This seems to be the way some people decide on which weapon they should carry for self-defense. The reason I believe is they may be basing their decision on which caliber, barrel length, ammunition they need because of what they perceive will be the situation in which they will need to use their weapon to defend themselves.

As I understand the statistics, the scenarios in which someone would need to defend themselves have that 90% of the gunfights are within 9 feet or 3 yards with 3 shots fired within 10 seconds (IIRC). Yet, most people buy a gun, ammunition, sights and train for fights starting at 21 feet or 7 yards out past 25 yards simply because they believe this is where the fight will take place, so they logically believe they need to carry a pistol configured as if it were a mini-sniper rifle.