Gun Show

Gun Show

This is a discussion on Gun Show within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, I'm a NY resident and permit holder. I'm going to a gun show today and a friend told me that we are permitted to ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Gun Show

Gun Show

Hi,
    I'm a NY resident and permit holder.

I'm going to a gun show today and a friend told me that we are permitted to purchase and take delivery of a pistol at the show. The current standard in NY is to purchase the firearm, have your permit amended/registered by the county clerk's office and approved by the county judge...whole process takes about 1-2 weeks.

Does anyone here know if this is true or is my friend mistaken?

Thanks

Distinguished Member Array Siafu's Avatar
    I too live in NY and in my county (Erie) it only requires that before taking delivery of the handgun it must first be put on your permit at the Pistol Permit Clerks office and then they issue you a coupon that you have to give to the store/seller. If I hurry I could go to the store, pick out a new friend, pay for it, head over to county hall and pay $5 to have gun added to the permit, get my coupon, return to the store and trade my coupon for the gun and have my new friend at home in about 1 hour.

What county do you live in?

You didn't say what county you were in, but I believe that this is true for almost all counties in NY (except NYC):

You need to get the serial number and bill of sale from the seller, then go to the local pistol unit (sheriff, clerk, ertc.), get it attached to your permit and get a coupon from them, then bring the coupon back to the seller, and pick up your gun.

If anyone knows of any different procedure in NY, I would love to hear about it.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch; Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote."
    -- Benjamin Franklin