Any Texas CHL instructors out there?

This is a discussion on Any Texas CHL instructors out there? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi Guys and Girls! I am a Canadian citizen and resident with permits from Utah, Maine, New Hampshire and Pennsylvania. Will Texas issue to me ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Texas CHL instructors out there?

VIP Member

Hi Guys and Girls!
    I am a Canadian citizen and resident with permits from Utah, Maine, New Hampshire and Pennsylvania. Will Texas issue to me as non immigrant alien? I realize I would have to take a course in Texas.
    CCW permit holder for Idaho, Utah, Pennsylvania, Maine and New Hampshire. I can carry in your country but not my own.

Your Utah permit should technically cover you in Texas unless they don't allow non-citizens as part of reciprocity, or have opted to not allow "third party" permits.
    If you just wanted the permit from Texas, I don't know if they issue to non-citizens or not.
    Try handgunlaw.us, they might have the answer.
    "The right of the whole people, old and young, men, women and boys, and not militia only, to keep and bear arms of every description, not such merely as are used by the militia, shall not be infringed, curtailed, or broken in upon, in the smallest degree..."
    Nunn v. State GA 1848

VIP Member
    Thanks press1280.
    Utah recently pulled the plug on non immigrant aliens. This means I will be unable to renew. That's why I'm looking at Texas.
    CCW permit holder for Idaho, Utah, Pennsylvania, Maine and New Hampshire. I can carry in your country but not my own.

VIP Member
    I didn't quite understand your status. Did you mean that you are a Canadian living in the US as a permanent resident? (Green Card holder?)

I'm asking because I didn't think non-resident aliens could purchase guns, and your initial post was a tad unclear to me about your status.

VIP Member