Stolen magazines during oil change

This is a discussion on Stolen magazines during oil change within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I want to say right off the bat that I ALWAYS know where my guns/ammo/mags are--but I know that I also make mistakes. That said, ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stolen magazines during oil change

I want to say right off the bat that I ALWAYS know where my guns/ammo/mags are--but I know that I also make mistakes.

That said, I think someone at the Pennzoil Quick Oil Change place stole a hi-cap mag and a 8rd mag from my car's center console. I say 'I think' this happened because, even though I have checked every place I ever keep them, I just can't believe that this has happened and I want to check again after work today.

I have been carrying now for about 3 months or so and I have a routine down. I can't carry on the Military Installation I work on so I put my pistol in the trunk and the mags in my center console every morning before I go to work. I HAVE to carry after work each day due to the danger involved in where I have to go after work, so I normally stop at a car wash to clean out my car and sneek my pistol into the car so I can load it and put it in my IWB carrier. This has become a real pain in the rear and, to me, places in danger a 'concealed' status. I know that some of you will tell me to just carry and never tell but there's this thing called a retirement check that I'm really fond of and a felony will cause it to stop getting to me.

Anyway, if this has happened, at this point, what can/should I do? The mags had hollowpoint ammo in them, if that makes any difference. Should I do a police report or can I get in trouble for having magazines with ammo in them unsecured in my car like that?
    Last edited by JD; October 14th, 2008 at 09:30 AM. Reason: Edited langauge workaround.

JD
    Administrator