Concealed to open or car, and/or which and when appropriate...huh?

This is a discussion on Concealed to open or car, and/or which and when appropriate...huh? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Does anyone know or heard of a case where someone got busted for going from concealed to open carry? I'm pretty new at this and ...

Thread: Concealed to open or car, and/or which and when appropriate...huh?

Concealed to open or car, and/or which and when appropriate...huh?

Does anyone know or heard of a case where someone got busted for going from concealed to open carry? I'm pretty new at this and I'm wondering...something...but I can't even formulate the question! I guess I'm wondering whether there has ever been a case where someone was in the wrong for doing this--or vice versa--from open or car to concealed.

This post is stemming from my problem with getting my mind around the fact that, as an MP, we HAD to exercise a "show of force" before progressing up the use of force ladder. But as a civilian, if I run into trouble and 'brandish', I'm really in trouble, legally, and it can get me killed too. I understand that. What I can't get out of my mind is the value of a show of force, I guess. It is a valuable tool--just like mace or a club or a gun. But the only way I can think of that it could be used effectively is in showing up at a situation already in an open carry mode. Maybe some creative or semi-sarcastic communication that let the BG know that if he tries something he's toast.

Please don't just post the wrongness and dangers of brandishing. Got it--thanks. But please do post your thoughts about open vs. concealed vs. car carry: when to, not to, dangers, why, where, when, what color, you know...

2. Remove Ads