Good manners, or escalating the situation...?

This is a discussion on Good manners, or escalating the situation...? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; In my class (I'm new to carrying) the instructor said, "many people when stopped by an officer in a traffic stop will hand them their ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Good manners, or escalating the situation...?

Senior Member Array PointnClick's Avatar

Good manners, or escalating the situation...?

In my class (I'm new to carrying) the instructor said, "many people when stopped by an officer in a traffic stop will hand them their permit with their license..." Sounds reasonable to me... no need to startle an officer. I asked a retired LEO what his views were and he said, "why make the guy nervous...? If you get pulled over, take your ticket and don't mention weapons unless he asks..."

That surprised me. I am one of the GOOD GUYS and inclined to assist and cooperate with LEO in pretty much any circumstance. The last thing I want is to be drawn on or wrestled to the ground if a cop sees a glint of gunmetal blue under my shirt...

So what's the right way to go...? Should I mention my Sig if I'm getting written up for a burnt-out tail lite...?
    "Who is to say that I am not an instrument of karma? Indeed, who is to say that I am not the very hand of God himself, dispatched by the Almighty to smite the Philistines and hypocrites, to lay low the dishonest and corrupt, and to bust the jawbone of some jackass that so desperately deserves it?"

2. Remove Ads

In Flordia it the law......you'd better.
    "Just getting a concealed carry permit means you haven't commited a crime yet. CCP holders commit crimes." Daniel Vice, senior attorney for the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence, quoted on Fox & Friends, 8 Jul, 2008

(Sometimes) "a fight avioded is a fight won." ... claude clay