'Anti-gun' spouses?

'Anti-gun' spouses?

This is a discussion on 'Anti-gun' spouses? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm certain this has probably been covered in some fashion on this forum, but it's a problem that I'm sure is prevalent and, IMO, worth ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 'Anti-gun' spouses?

'Anti-gun' spouses?

I'm certain this has probably been covered in some fashion on this forum, but it's a problem that I'm sure is prevalent and, IMO, worth bringing to the top.

I'm relatively new to firearms and also very recently married (only been 5 weeks). I moved from NY to Arizona a few months ago and due to the relative ease of purchasing and owning a gun in my new home state, my firearms obsession has grown exponentially. Now with a family to protect, I've also become more more situationally aware, more wolf-than-sheeple. So, I took a CCW class and would like to carry as often as possible (unfortunately, no weapons permitted at work).

Problem is my lovely new bride is deathly afraid of guns and literally started to cry when I first told her I would have a handgun in the house. Title of my thread is a bit misleading because since then, she's accepted my 'hobby' and has even expressed interest in going to range with me to shoot some guns (gotta love her). Since her owning (much less carrying) a gun is extremely unlikely, I bought her a canister of pepperspray as the next best thing.

My two remaining problems/questions are:

1) my CCW is only days away (may even be in the mail today). How do I convince her that carrying is a safe and a smart thing to do?

2) when I take her to the range for the first time, what would you recommend as a good 'starter' gun? She's a bit easily startled (loud bangs will scare the bejezus outta her) and petit (5'6, 110ish). Something with very little recoil, easy to handle. No way I'd let her use my .45. That would surely turn her off right away.