Studied, trained, have permit, am I ready?

This is a discussion on Studied, trained, have permit, am I ready? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am well on my way in becoming qualified and responsible in my quest to carry a concealed pistol. My question is this: How qualified ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Studied, trained, have permit, am I ready?

Distinguished Member Array nutz4utwo's Avatar

Studied, trained, have permit, am I ready?

I am well on my way in becoming qualified and responsible in my quest to carry a concealed pistol. My question is this: How qualified do I need to be to safely carry a concealed pistol?

I am fairly new to shooting, but here is what I have done in the past 6 months:

-obtained permit
    -obtained G19 and supertuck
    -learned safe handling and operation
    -joined range, practiced often
    -studied my State's laws on concealed carry
    -studied my State's laws on use of force
    -studied (a limited amount) Federal firearm law
    -Fired 500 rounds of plinker ammo through my Glock
    -Fired 100 rounds of Federal HST (what I intend to carry)

-Thought about and improved my situational awareness and avoidance skills
    -Swallowed my ego
    -tried to think through scenarios where I might have to draw or fire my pistol
    -come to terms with the possibility of shooting or killing someone
    -anticipated the effects of adrenaline and stress on my skills
    -voraciously studied DefensiveCarry.com!

My shooting skills are not fabulous, but are decent and I am improving. I have been through a few coachings and they have helped greatly. I can reliable print every round on a paper plate at 7 yards or a NRA slow fire pistol target (3 foot square) at 25 yards. I am not going to win any medals for speed, but I am reliable.