Winter Carry Issues

This is a discussion on Winter Carry Issues within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Within the last week, the temperature has plummeted (for Western Washington anyways) and we got our first snow of the year (not that we'll get ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Winter Carry Issues

Winter Carry Issues

Within the last week, the temperature has plummeted (for Western Washington anyways) and we got our first snow of the year (not that we'll get much). It got me thinking about things to consider when carrying in wintertime. This is my first year carrying so I have a lot more questions than suggestions.

Items and questions I came up with are:

-Making sure you can draw and fire with your gloves on (if you wear them). So far I don't wear any gloves. Does anyone have any recommendations for some nice driving or other thin gloves that work well for shooting with (preferably ones that can be worn unobtrusively in urban settings).

-Making sure you can draw and fire in a reasonable amount of time with your jacket on and with it zipped up? One of my jackets has a second zipper that unzips from the bottom up. It seems that unzipping this a ways makes it much easier to access my gun. However, I haven't practiced with the jacket on yet. It also seems that the jacket zipped this way would scream gun (or dork). Does anyone else use this method? Are there special jackets out there that are designed for quick and easy access to a gun? I carry IWB, but any jacket info would be useful.

-How effective are SD hollowpoint rounds against heavy jackets and winter clothes? Is there enough of a problem that adding some FMJs to the mag would be necessary?

-What about gun and ammo operation? Will the cold effect operation of the gun or ammo? Are there any specific oils or etc to avoid or use to prevent cold weather related issues?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Pro2A's Avatar