Is it Legal to CC while on your own property?

This is a discussion on Is it Legal to CC while on your own property? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I own the place of business that I work at. It is our property. Can I legally CC while at work here?...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it Legal to CC while on your own property?

Is it Legal to CC while on your own property?

I own the place of business that I work at. It is our property.
    Can I legally CC while at work here?

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Always state specific and even municipality specific, but in general you can unless your state or local government prohibits it. Your place of biz is treated about the same way as your home. That said, you need to check your own state's laws.

I can't imagine any state where it woul be illegal to CC or OC on your own property. But I'm no lawyer, I'm sure California has some obscure law against it.

VIP Member
    As Hopyard said, this is going to be a state specific question. Your best bet will be search your state statutes, you can start here:

Handgunlaw.us

I would also guess Kansas has some type of RKBA group where you could check also. Remember, a answer you get from any type of group, you need to get a statute reference for.

I believe Ohio used to prohibit CC even on your own property. We just passed some more reform last year and I believe this was part of it. OC has always been legal.
    Bend the knees, smooth is fast, watch the front sight.

Quote Originally Posted by knuterockne View Post
    I can't imagine any state where it woul be illegal to CC or OC on your own property. But I'm no lawyer, I'm sure California has some obscure law against it.
    I would guess that states would be more apt to make it illegal to CC then they would OC. Most places that don't have specific laws against OC, do have laws against CC without a permit.