Defensive Carry banner

How do you carry when you have young kids?

3K views 20 replies 21 participants last post by  dukalmighty 
#1 ·
I am a mother of a 3yr old and 10 month old. Im wondering what is the best way to carry when I have one of my children on my hip still...I know that may sound like a silly question, but Im new to the conceal carry. (Actually just took my ccw class on saturday and am pending permit paperwork). If you are a woman, please tell me what works best for you. Would also like feedback from men on how your wives carry with small children? especially if your wife is of medium build like I am ( 5 ft 6 inches, 140lbs )thanks!!

#2 ·
I've got three boys, 8, 2 and a 5 month old. I keep the baby on my left, the 2 yr old on the right, should I need to carry him. I'd be able to set him down easy enough, while still have the youngest with my strong side now free.
Been several occasions with just us three out shopping with mom at home.

She has a permit but does not carry. Pending more training.

I wish to never be in that situation with them, but gotta do the best we can.

Carry IWB with MS VMII and OWB in the winter here in a Rosen Executive.
I typically have my coat unzipped for easy access

#3 ·
Well I'm not a woman but I do carry my kids on my hip. I'm 5'7, 140 lbs. I have a 10 month old, 3 year old and 5 year old. I carry my weapon at 1-2 o'clock with a Crossbreed SuperTuck. When I carry my kids, I carry them on my left side so my strong side is free to access weapon if needed. If I'm carrying two kids, I have one on each side. Hope that helps.

#4 ·
My 3yo grandson is very into shooting imaginary bad guys w/his toy guns. In addition, he has quite a vocabulary and quite an imagination. He wants me to take him to "Shoot the orange targets that go up in the air" (Trap) when he gets bigger.

Because of his perpetual talking, his imagination and his just plain being a real little boy, I have not let him know that I carry.