I'm a student of history and I'm curious...

This is a discussion on I'm a student of history and I'm curious... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I enjoy learning about the history behind different things, and I'm wondering what started the concealed carry movement? Was Florida the first state in modern ...

Thread: I'm a student of history and I'm curious...

Distinguished Member Array SubNine's Avatar

I enjoy learning about the history behind different things, and I'm wondering what started the concealed carry movement? Was Florida the first state in modern times to adopt CCW laws maybe due to high crime? I know before the internet where it is now easier to gain valuable information without media bias, most people got information through media sources, which of course we know is generally anti-gun. Did most other states think that the common citizen could not be trusted to carry handguns in public, and were there any states before Florida that allowed law abiding people to carry guns?

Never mind I managed to find a map on the history of right to carry. Seems before 1987 most of the states were May Issue and I remembered Vermont has never had a permit system in place.
    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.

I am the God fearing, gun toting, flag waving conservative you were warned about!

Quote Originally Posted by SubNine
    Never mind I managed to find a map on the history of right to carry. Seems before 1987 most of the states were May Issue and I remembered Vermont has never had a permit system in place.
    Can you post where you found that map / info?

Thanks. Sam.
    Last edited by Scott; February 22nd, 2009 at 10:59 AM. Reason: Fixed quote tag
    And the old man said, "We'll see..."

USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.