Rookie Question About Carry

This is a discussion on Rookie Question About Carry within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm embarrased to ask this question, but I can't find any information anywhere about it which tells me that it is too basic for people ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Rookie Question About Carry

I'm embarrased to ask this question, but I can't find any information anywhere about it which tells me that it is too basic for people to even bother asking (a little like asking if one needs pedals on a bicycle).

I am new to shooting however I just recently passed the Texas CCL. It takes about two months to actually receive the license so I am learning all I can about concealment in the meantime. My first priority is personal saftey for myself and others and toward that end am spening a lot of time at the range, reading everything I can get my hands on, and I spend a lot of time on this site because it covers just about everything.

With that background, here's my embarassingly rookie question: When I holster a pistol for concealed carry, should it be ready to fire immediately? If so, what are the chances of an accidental discharge? I don't know what I'll carry yet, but am leaning toward a Sig P239. Should it be ready to fire as soon as I draw it?

Thank you...:

As long as you have one in the tube and no external safety lever you are good to go. That's how most folks carry.

If you need your weapon, you will need it in a hurry, most likely. If you have to rack the slide while you are in a bad situation, the time it takes to do that can cost you your life. Most folks that carry have one in the tube. I certainly do.
    ALSO . . . Don't be embarrassed to ask questions, we've all had to do that at one time or another.
    "We have met the enemy, and it is us." Pogo Possum