Traveling to Broken Bow, OK

This is a discussion on Traveling to Broken Bow, OK within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; For my brethren just North of me, I have a question. I will be traveling to Broken Bow in May for a canoing trip and ...

Thread: Traveling to Broken Bow, OK

Traveling to Broken Bow, OK

For my brethren just North of me, I have a question.

I will be traveling to Broken Bow in May for a canoing trip and I was wondering if the river and areas around it are considered part of the state park? I will not be going to the lake, but we will put in just past the dam and heading down stream for approx. 10 miles.

Also what do you guys suggest as far as carrying while on a kayak (open kayak)? I am not a beginner, so as long as I draw the kayak and not have to share a canoe, I will only go in the water when I want to and not 'cause some newbie doesn't know how to communicate or follow directions and we dump.
    "Don't hit a man if you can possibly avoid it; but if you do hit him, put him to sleep." - Theodore Roosevelt

-Paco
    http://www.shieldsd.net

2. Remove Ads

Don't live in OK or know anything about the park but according to HandgunLaw, carry in State Parks in OK is legal. Might want to check with a local authority. Have fun.

Hoss
    Sig 239 SAS 40 S&W / Sig 239 9mm / Kahr PM-9 / Walther PPS .40 / Sig P-245 / Ruger LCP
    Beretta Tomcat / Walther PPK / BDA 380 / Taurus 85 / Kel-Tec PF-9 / Am. Derringer 357

NRA Life Member
    My Web Site

Oklahoma has preemption and carry in state parks is legal, as long as you do not go into buildings. Also, a lot of water areas and parks in Oklahoma might be owned by the Army Corp of Engineers, which could be considered federal land and carrying of a firearm might be illegal. I have never been able to figure out if the parks here are actual Corp of Engineer land or just managed by them.