Carry into someone's home?

This is a discussion on Carry into someone's home? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi all, please bear with me, I am a noob and this is my 1st post. I would love some feedback about whether or not ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Carry into someone's home?

Distinguished Member Array Bunny's Avatar

Carry into someone's home?

Hi all, please bear with me, I am a noob and this is my 1st post.

I would love some feedback about whether or not you carry into someone else's home. And if so, do you disclose to them?

And now my explanation: I'm about to take my CCW class. I work for 4 different Giant-Breed K-9 rescues and get calls at any hour to go grab a dog and evaluate, or to do a "home evaluation" on someone applying to adopt.

Unfortunately last year, I was called to do a home check and as we do not do any background check deeper than calling the vet (if listed) to make sure their current animals (if any) get annual exams, I had no way to know that I was going alone into the home of a convicted (several times) violent offender, current a fugitive from the law, wanted on a Rape charge.

I was fortunate, and have a background in Self-Defense, so I was not harmed. HOWEVER, I have thought long and hard about carrying now for the last 18 months, since this happened. I don't want to be in that situation ever again, and as Ann Coulter says about us women "without carrying a firearm we're what's known as 'prey.' "

So, I'm thinking that as soon as I am able to CCW, I will be back doing home evals again. Having a partner with me is not an option, unfortunately. But I'm wondering about whether I should let the individual homeowner know that I am carrying, out of respect for the property owner, or let concealed mean concealed. So any thoughts, opinions, or personal stories would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member