Defensive Carry banner

CC in North Carolina

3K views 18 replies 14 participants last post by  akhimark 
#1 ·
So I've had my concealed carry permit for about 2 weeks now. I'm a student, so I don't get to carry all that much, but I pretty much do whenever I leave the house if I'm not going to campus.

In North Carolina, you can't carry (open or concealed) in places that charge admission, such as movie theaters, or shows, etc. Well I had a question concerning Sam's Club. Obviously, you have to pay a yearly membership fee to shop at Sam's Club. Is this legally considered an "admission fee", which would preclude me from carrying? There are no signs on the door that say no weapons (which holds up as law in NC), and I'm not forking over cash at the door, so my understanding is that it is OK, but I want to be certain I understand the law completely.

I guess a similar situation would be golf courses and the like, as they have membership dues, but no admission fees. So, what say ye?

Kenny

#2 ·
Technically Sam’s charges a membership fee and not an admission fee so carry there is legal. The admission fee applies to such venues as theaters, theme parks and others where it is paid just to get in for a short time for entertainment.

#7 ·
The movie theater thing seems to actually depend on who you ask. After all, you don't have to pay to get into the building, you have to pay to watch the movie. If you just hang around in the lobby and the theater isn't posted, then you have not paid admission, and none is required for where you are.

I would not suggest to anyone that they carry inside a movie theater anywhere, but if one did, and actually managed to get charged, it would be an interesting defense.

#8 ·
What a weird law..... but glad to know it for when I go to North Carolina this summer. Any other strange things to watch out for in the laws there ?

#9 ·
From our DOJ website:

In North Carolina, concealed handguns may not be carried: