Conceal Carry without a Holster

This is a discussion on Conceal Carry without a Holster within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi folks, I'm new to concealed carry (my permit is in progress) and I have a question on how to carry. (by the way I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Conceal Carry without a Holster

Hi folks,

I'm new to concealed carry (my permit is in progress) and I have a question on how to carry. (by the way I searched the archives and didn't see this asked before)

I wear gym shorts and a t-shirt 6 days per week, my job is a self-defense and fitness instructor so I'm never wearing anything that would allow me to wear a belt for a holster.

I have been just tucking my XD sub-compact into my short's waistline around the house and it feels great, conceals great and seems like it would only fall out if I did some very athletic motions.

Would it be a bad idea to just tuck it into my shorts (4 o'clock) on the way to my gym (I own the gym) and when I leave on the way to my car? It will be in my desk drawer while I train my clients.

Anyone else do this?

Are there any holsters that can clip onto a waistband instead of requiring a belt to attach to?

I really do not want to go the fanny pack route.

Thanks everyone,
    Brian

VIP Member
    It has been discussed a couple times. It is generally referred to as "Mexican Carry", you can try searching for that.

The consensus is that it's a bad idea. The gun is just not secured enough that way. Check on various Inside the Waist Band holsters that use clips (I use High Noon's Hidden Ally or Split Decision and am happy with them). They can clip to the waistband without a belt if needed.
    eschew obfuscation

The only thing that stops bad guys with guns is good guys with guns. SgtD

VIP Member
    Please note--I have never used this type of product!

Something like this might be an answer: