Reciprocity ?

Reciprocity ?

This is a discussion on Reciprocity ? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Fairly new to everything about this. I'm military and stationed in VA. I'm fairly certain i am going to be getting orders to FL. I ...

Thread: Reciprocity ?

Reciprocity ?

Fairly new to everything about this. I'm military and stationed in VA. I'm fairly certain i am going to be getting orders to FL. I went ahead and applied for a CCW permit in VA. My question is...I am a resident of FL but being military i do not have to change residency every tiime i move. I applied for a VA Resident permit, they had no issues at all with that. Now FL says they have reciprocity with VA as long as it is a "Resident" permit. Now hopefully the permit says "resident" or something along those lines on it. FL doesn't mean "resident" of VA does it? The reason i applied for the VA permit and not the FL permit was that the VA permit is about half the price and half the wait. Hope i didn't confuse anyone.

22crew

Handgunlaw.us

Knock yourself out
    HAPPY NEW YEAR
    INFIDELS

Jmac00, appreciate it. That's where i went and found some info. I just didn't want any "fine print" if you know what i mean. I'm assuming a "Resident" permit is a resident permit. Doesn't matter what state you are a legal resident of. As long as it says "Resident" on it then FL should not have an issue. That's what i assume, but you know what can happen when you "assume".

22crew

Sir-
    From your screen name and where you're talking about I'm assuming that you're at Langley and headed towards Tyndall, right?

The way I understand state residency as it applies to military is this:
    1- We are residents of the state that our home of record is in
    2- We are also residents of whichever state we are stationed in

So, as soon as you PCS to Florida you need to change your CCW because you are no longer a resident of VA.

Does this help?