Couple of questions on NC CC laws

This is a discussion on Couple of questions on NC CC laws within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello all... I'm a bit new to this so bare with me. I searched for the answers to my questions but couldn't find them so ...

Thread: Couple of questions on NC CC laws

Couple of questions on NC CC laws

Hello all... I'm a bit new to this so bare with me. I searched for the answers to my questions but couldn't find them so I'm hoping someone can give me a little help.

I recently got my conceal carry permit in NC.

1) I came across an interesting situation yesterday. I was riding in a vehicle as a passenger when we approached a road check. I know as the driver when the officer stops me I am to notify that I have a conceal carry permit and I have a concealed handgun in my possession. How does that apply as a passenger if the officer never addresses me?

We were waved through the road check as they had two vehicles already pulled over so it was a non-issue this time.

2) I live in Watauga County and often access the Blue Ridge Parkway. What is the status of carrying on National Parks? It is my understanding that it would be illegal to carry on the Parkway or for that matter any National Park due to a recent injunction?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jake

2. Remove Ads

I'm pretty sure as a passenger you are NOT required to provide ID or even speak to the officer if asked questions...unless you are being questioned about a crime. Same goes for any other public place you're in. If the driver is pulled over for a moving violation (not a crime but an infraction), again, you are not obliged to responde to questions or give ID if asked...unless of course, again, you are questioned in accordance with a potential crime (like the driver wreaks of booze...which isn't really a crime you can be questioned for).