Did the right thing and got burned!

This is a discussion on Did the right thing and got burned! within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a truck mechanic, and just got my CPL two weeks ago. I live in Mich. and drive an hour one way to get to ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

I'm a truck mechanic, and just got my CPL two weeks ago. I live in Mich. and drive an hour one way to get to work. My company's handbook has a list of conduct rules, and half way down is one saying that " no unauthorized weapons are allowed on property"

So me being the honest law abiding person that I am, and figuring that I should be the one to tell my boss that I carry ( not someone accidently finding my gun) I send him an e-mail. I tell him that I have my permit and I've been keeping my gun locked in my car. I had not taken it into the shop, and just wanted to be up front with him.

My boss and his brother grew up on a farm and hunted. I figured they would authorize me to keep my gun in my car without any problem. I could not have been more wrong. I feel like I'm working for Obama's step brothers. In Mich., property owners have the power to refuse to let employees secure their guns in their own cars.

I was told that my gun should just stay home and if I really feel the need to carry do it in the evenings or on weekends. They just don't feel comfortable with me having a gun in my car on their property.

So now do I break the rules and if found out possibly lose my job? Do I find someplace off the property to park? or do I leave my gun at home and hope that I don't need it somewhere within the 55miles between work and home?

Sheep are stupid if they think bad things only happen between the hours of 5pm and 5:30am and only at your house. I'm very pissed off and need some input.

M&P9c
    SW99 40cal.
    SuperTuck

Park off property if that is a possibility.
    NRA Life Member.
    H&K USP Compact .40
    Among others.