MI CCW questions

This is a discussion on MI CCW questions within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First post. I'm a resident of Ohio (for the past six months) but my ID says Michigan. I'm only down here for school and do ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MI CCW questions

MI CCW questions

First post.

I'm a resident of Ohio (for the past six months) but my ID says Michigan. I'm only down here for school and do not plan on staying here. My permanent address is still in MI. I've been told I cannot purchase a handgun in the state of Ohio without an Ohio ID or CCW, and I cannot obtain a CCW from Ohio without an Ohio ID. So that leads me to getting my CCW in Michigan.

Ohio will waive the pistol safety requirements due to my military training. I'm not sure if Michigan will though (it doesn't look like it, but I can't find any clear answers online). If I took a CCW course (NRA) in Ohio would it be accepted in Michigan?

Or should I just suck it up and get an Ohio drivers license and save some money and time from waiving the firearms safety course? The MI CCW is also more expensive than OH's by around $50.

What do you guys think I should do?

Thanks!

2. Remove Ads

o I'd say that $50 is small relative to the ramifications of changing your driver's license from MI to OH, so you shouldn't make a decision based upon the $50 difference.

o In my state the Motor Vehicle Department will issue ID cards that act as government-issued photo ID cards (but that don't grant driving privileges). If OH does this, why don't you get one of those to use as your OH ID?

Quote Originally Posted by mfcmb View Post
    o I'd say that $50 is small relative to the ramifications of changing your driver's license from MI to OH, so you shouldn't make a decision based upon the $50 difference.