Rotate mags?

Rotate mags?

This is a discussion on Rotate mags? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am somewhat new to concealed carry and have heard/read about people rotating their carry mags. The argument is that keeping a mag fully loaded ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rotate mags?

Rotate mags?

I am somewhat new to concealed carry and have heard/read about people rotating their carry mags. The argument is that keeping a mag fully loaded for to long is bad for the spring. So who does and who doesn't subscribe to this theory? If you do, how often do you rotate mags and why that often?

Thanks
    D
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch, Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote"
    --Benjamin Franklin

"Chop your own wood, and it will warm you twice."
    --Henry Ford

You don't have to change your mags out. The spring being compressed won't hurt them. I keep all mine loaded and have no problems. This guy did some experiments with his mag springs.

http://mcb-homis.com/magspring/index.htm
    We can't stop here...this is bat country.
    Μολὼν λαβέ
    Res Ipsa Loquitur

I rotate mine out every time I go to the range.. Once I come back, clean and load back up I use a different mag.
    --I'M PROUD TO HAVE THE ABILITY TO BEAR ARMS--

Glock27/ KaBar TDI/ MTAC Holster. I have more also, but this combination works well..

I have two sets of two mags, now stay with me on this. I am an instructor at a range and I shoot EVERYDAY! I use one set of mags with hollowpoints for carry and one set of range rounds. My carry mags I rotate out ever other week and I subtract two rounds from each. I do believe in the spring loosing some tension when mags are fully loaded for extended periods. I personally have seen this happen and have had foul ups. My mag holds 16 rds, so I carry 14+1.