CO does not accept permits from:

This is a discussion on CO does not accept permits from: within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; WOW am I mad. Colorado Bureau of Investigation This statute states that CO does not recognize out of state permits that are issued to non-residents ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CO does not accept permits from:

WOW am I mad.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

This statute states that CO does not recognize out of state permits that are issued to non-residents of the issuing state. i.e. if I apply to get a FL permit I am not legal in cc for CO because I am a resident of CO and not FL.

SOOOO the jerks at the gun show last month who sold me on the idea of getting a FL permit (more states with reciprocity) either don't know what they are talking about or just royally screwed me over.

just a word of warning to anyone else who goes to the monthly gun show and is tempted to take a concealed carry class there. the class is fine, just don't waist 60 bucks for them to fingerprint you and 117 bucks to send off your app to FL.

*update

got off the phone w the guy who owns the class thing; he is usually there and was not on my date of class. he says instructors and cbi guy do know about this law and should have been clear about it.

cbi guy was not. i specifically asked him if the fl permit was valid in co. he said yes. (and yes it is if you are a fl resident, but seeing how this was a co show...)

so in summary i think the class is still money well spent, JUST be more aware of the law going into it than I was.

VIP Member
    If you have a Colorado permit you are still good to go in CO. Your FL. permit just adds to your out of state places you can carry.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
    Thomas Jefferson