Pistol Permit requirments in NC??

This is a discussion on Pistol Permit requirments in NC?? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Here's my situation: Im in the Marine Corps stationed in NC but as far as the government is concerned Im a resident of NV, pay ...

Thread: Pistol Permit requirments in NC??

Here's my situation: Im in the Marine Corps stationed in NC but as far as the government is concerned Im a resident of NV, pay taxes in NV, and have a NV drivers license which means I cant get a pistol permit for NC without changing my residency. With that being said I would be a NON-resident, though I live in NC 350 days a year when not deployed and I cant find the laws on posession of a pistol by a non resident. Would I be legal to have a pistol in NC without a permit becasue Im not technically a resident?? Im in a sense visiting here for a few years. Thanks for any help

VIP Member
    Unless NC is doing something other states don't your Military PCS orders sending you to NC makes you a resident in the states eyes. As long as you have a place of residence in NC, be it off base housing, on base housing or the barracks you should be good to go. If you want a hunting or fishing license you purchase a resident license not a non resident.

14‑403. Permit issued by sheriff; form of permit; expiration of permit.

The sheriffs of any and all counties of this State shall issue to any person, firm, or corporation in any county a license or permit to purchase or receive any weapon mentioned in this Article from any person, firm, or corporation offering to sell or dispose of the weapon. The license or permit shall expire five years from the date of issuance. The license or permit shall be in the following form:

North Carolina,

______________ County.