No carry license and a trip to Louisiana

This is a discussion on No carry license and a trip to Louisiana within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a Missouri resident who does not yet have a concealed carry license. I am headed to Louisiana on vacation later this week. I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No carry license and a trip to Louisiana

I am a Missouri resident who does not yet have a concealed carry license. I am headed to Louisiana on vacation later this week. I will drive through Arkansas, Tennessee, and Mississippi on the way to Louisiana. I do keep a handgun (loaded) in the center console of my vehicle and in any hotel room I stay in which is legal in MO (and I believe in LA as well). Handgunlaw.us says "Louisiana law does not expressly prohibit the carrying of handguns in vehicles. This is a complicated issue. We suggest that you refer to Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 14 Sections 95; 95.1; 95.2; 95.6; 95.7; 95.8." I also carry a K-Bar TDI clipped to my belt which may or may not be legal in MO. According to Handgunlaw.us Missouri restricts a knife of more than four inches. It officially says that "knife" does not include any ordinary pocketknife with no blade more than four inches in length. My blade is less than 4 inches but ordinary, maybe not. Louisiana knife laws are unknown according to Handgunlaw.us. What would you recommend for the upcoming trip to Louisiana? Handgun in vehicle and keep the knife? Leave them both at home? Other options?

OpenCarry.org - State Information For Louisiana

Summary
    Louisiana is a traditional open carry state. They have complete state preemption of firearms laws with the exception that laws in place prior to the passage of preemption are allowed to remain in place

Open Car Carry You may open carry in a vehicle.
    S&W M&P40/M&P9c OC rigs
    S&W 640-1 or Sig P238 as a CC rig
    proud www.georgiacarry.org member