CCW reciprocity interpretation

This is a discussion on CCW reciprocity interpretation within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi everyone, I have an AZ CCW I got last year while a state resident. AZ issues CCW permits to state residents and non residents ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CCW reciprocity interpretation

CCW reciprocity interpretation

Hi everyone,

I have an AZ CCW I got last year while a state resident. AZ issues CCW permits to state residents and non residents without differentiation provided you meet training/background requirements. I am now a SD resident. SD honors AZ permits as well as those of several other states, but it's not clear whether they honor an out of state permit if you are a SD resident. Can anyone clarify? Thanks

2. Remove Ads

HandgunLaw.us does a pretty good job of summarizing the state requirements. You can do a map that shows where your CHL is recognized/accepted.
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, SAF, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

CCW9MM, thanks for the reply but that's the source I used and find the language unclear.

Well, take FL for example. FL recognizes many CHL's, but ONLY if the person is actually a resident of that state. HandgunLaw.us shows those states in a different color, clearly showing that the recognition is conditional.

The reciprocity PDF also lists AZ, and it clearly shows SD in the list of recognized states.
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, SAF, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

Quote Originally Posted by ccw9mm View Post