How long to get comfortable?

This is a discussion on How long to get comfortable? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'll be picking up my CPL in about a week, and I've been preparing for CC using a lot of what I've read about here ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How long to get comfortable?

How long to get comfortable?

I'll be picking up my CPL in about a week, and I've been preparing for CC using a lot of what I've read about here (thanks, everyone).

I've been wearing an extra large overshirt for a few months now, so people who know me are used to seeing that.

I've been carrying my S&W 3913 around the house in a paddle holster (so I can adjust the position differently when I'm walking/standing versus sitting). I'm not concerned about "showing"; I can bend, squat, climb stairs, etc. without any part of the rig showing at all. The belt I'm wearing is an extra heavy/thick one that will still go thru the pant loops (well, for most of my pants, anyway).

But, I find that after a few hours of carrying, my hips/kidneys are very sore; I've had many kidney stone attacks over the years, and I'm guessing the area around my kidneys are more sensitive than normal. I can't really loosen the belt without the weight of the gun dragging on my pants uncomfortably.

How long did it take to physically get used to carrying for most people (as opposed to psychologically getting used to it, and not thinking that "everyone knows I'm carrying")? I've read many posts that say that after a while, "I forget I'm carrying"...does that mean physically, as well as psychologically?

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I'm certain everyone's experience is a little different, but IIRC, it probably took me about a week? It is somewhat like wearing a ring for the first time--it feels odd for a while, then suddenly it feels odd not to have it. You'll get accustomed to it pretty soon, I suspect.

Stay safe!