All you need to do to apply for the FL license is send in the paperwork along with the NRA instructor certificate and the fingerprint cards.
This is a discussion on Florida Non-res CCW within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Now that my state of NV dropped FL, FL has in turn dropped NV. So my NV CCW is no longer valid in FL. I ...
Now that my state of NV dropped FL, FL has in turn dropped NV. So my NV CCW is no longer valid in FL. I also have a UT non res permit, but FL only excepts resident permits. So I am going to FL at the end of the year, and would very much like to carry. SO my question is...I was reading the statutes regarding the class you need to take, and it basically says any NRA instructor..so if the class I took for my NV and UT CCW was done by certified NRA instructors..then I should be able to just send in the paper work from them? Also, for NV you need to also shoot and pass a shooting test..FL says it requires "proof of efficiency with a firearm"..does this also mean shooting?
You can easily get your FL permit (no such thing as a non-res permit...it just shows your address)...but it is going to take 3 months or more...start now.
The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.
Certified Glock Armorer
NRA Life Member
Thanks for the replies.
As far as the money is concerned...is it one check for $117, or 2 checks..one for fingerprints and the other for CCW? The two together are $117.
You have to have your fingerprints done locally and send FL the card.
A $75 license fee must be submitted with your application. A $42 fingerprint card-processing fee must also be included
(totaling $117) unless your fingerprints were taken by a law enforcement agency using a LIVE SCAN device and were submitted
I was scanned when I had to reapply for my hazmat endorsement on my dl in sc.
maby your state has that at the dr lis bureau?
As for the Florida training, if you took a class for your NV CCW just send a copy of your NV CCW. Heck they even accept a letter from a gun club stating you know how to handle a firearm or even a hunter safety cir t or DD214.
Anyone know why NV dropped Florida?
The state of Nevada doesn't like the Florida CCW permit as the permit is good for 7 years. Prior to this it was good for 5 years. I do believe in Nevada they require that the person carrying must be checked every 5 years for reciprocity.
Yes that's why..stupid if you ask me. If something happened that you would not get renewed..you would have lost it anyway by then. Utah was dropped because they do not have a live fire requirement...which I think there should be..but they never did, so go figure..