IDPA

This is a discussion on IDPA within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been shooting Cowboy Action Shooting for the last 10 yrs. But the other day I went to a local IDPA match and I think ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IDPA

IDPA

I've been shooting Cowboy Action Shooting for the last 10 yrs. But the other day I went to a local IDPA match and I think this would be a great training tool for carrying concealed.
    The guys were doing stages that ranged from sitting in a park and having a gang of thugs sic their pit bull on you to opening up your store, with an employee, and having three thugs try to rob you.
    I know professional training is the best but I think this could be a very valuable tool.

2. Remove Ads

Yep, it can help because IDPA is what USPSA/IPSC used to be; about practical scenarios. Outside of a professional school like Blackwater or Gunsite it is probably going to be the most help for you learning how to use the equipment you carry....
    "Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect everyone who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are inevitably ruined". - Patrick Henry

My advice would be to "shoot what you carry" in IDPA matches. If you get caught up in the equipment race and have a "match gun" different from your house gun or carry gun you somewhat defeat the purpose.
    "It's a big gun when I carry it, it is also a big gun when I take it out Clint Smith

Yes, training for gunfights is what IDPA is all about. Most of what is taught in gun fighting schools today grew out of the knowledge gained in reality-based competition like IDPA and IPSC as envisioned by Jeff Cooper and the others who organized it.

If you play IDPA and use your own carry gear like JimmyC4 recommended, you cannot help but improve your skills.

Distinguished Member
    Adroitus,