Transfer of my OK CHL to TX CHL...

This is a discussion on Transfer of my OK CHL to TX CHL... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Greetings.... I am active duty military and stationed in Oklahoma. I will be moving to Fort Bliss (El Paso) next Feb. I currently hold an ...

Greetings....
    I am active duty military and stationed in Oklahoma. I will be moving to Fort Bliss (El Paso) next Feb. I currently hold an OK permit and would like to continue to carry when I live in TX.
    Because of the rules here in OK I am allowed, as an active duty stationed here, to have an OK carry permit, but I am a Colorado resident (Read: CO drivers license).
    I will become a TX resident again when I move in FEB (I was born and raised in Austin). I don't want to have a lapse in time between permits and I don't want to have to explain having a CO DL and a OK carry permit even though it's legal here. I am assuming that my OK permit will become null and void when I get a TX DL, so I have a few questions:

1. Can I get a Non-resident license now and have that cover me when I move to TX?

2. If #1 is YES then when do I have to transfer that to "resident" permit?

3. Any down side to a TX Non-resident permit?

4. Any options I don't know about?

I am fairly close to Wichita falls (Fort Sill) and could easily get down to TX take a class before I move.

Obviously my main goals are to not have any time where I can't carry legally and to make LEO's comfortable in the off chance I get stopped.

(What's funny is that if I were a common low life criminal I would just carry without a permit...and people are scared of the law abiding citizen that jumps through their a** to do the right thing...that makes me scratch my head)

Thanks for your time.