Nevada gun laws?

This is a discussion on Nevada gun laws? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a question about Nevada's gun laws and their concealed carry laws. Is it legal to process a handgun in the state of Nevada ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Nevada gun laws?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Array 1911luver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,104

    Nevada gun laws?

    I have a question about Nevada's gun laws and their concealed carry laws. Is it legal to process a handgun in the state of Nevada and in Las Vegas being a nonresident? Is it legal to keep a loaded pistol in my car in a holster,inside a center console or glove box like it is in Florida?

    Last thing is does a Nevada nonresident CCW need to be applied for in person,while in Nevada? If so how long does it take to take the class and get the paper work going? Would a 2 week visit be enough time to get the ball rolling and does the permit need be picked up in person or can it be mailed to my out of state address? Thanks for any help guys.
    Snub nose revolvers,the original concealed carry guns.

  2. Remove Ads

  3. #2
    Ex Member Array G19inLV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by 1911luver View Post
    I have a question about Nevada's gun laws and their concealed carry laws. Is it legal to process a handgun in the state of Nevada and in Las Vegas being a nonresident? Is it legal to keep a loaded pistol in my car in a holster,inside a center console or glove box like it is in Florida?

    Last thing is does a Nevada nonresident CCW need to be applied for in person,while in Nevada? If so how long does it take to take the class and get the paper work going? Would a 2 week visit be enough time to get the ball rolling and does the permit need be picked up in person or can it be mailed to my out of state address? Thanks for any help guys.
    What do you mean by process a handgun?

    You can open carry a pistol, as long as you can legally own one. You can carry a loaded pistol in your car open or concealed. You would need to apply for a CCW in person. If you come to Vegas, you will need to go to the CCW Bureau to process your app. But first you will need to take a class. The class itself is a few hours and some range time. Applying for the CCW is just an hour at the bureau. They print you there and take your picture, and then will mail your permit.

    I would recommend going to Bargain Pawn for the class, assuming you are coming to Vegas. They are on the north end of Las Vegas Blvd. in North Las Vegas. They do the class at the shop, and qualify on the other side of town (south) at Bass Pro Shops range.

    Welcome to Bargain Pawn, The Family Friendly Pawn Shop at the TOP of the Valley!

    LV Metro Site.

    Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department

  4. #3
    Member Array Shotdown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    295
    It is legal to posses a handgun in Las Vegas. However it can't be concealed (on you) but open carry is legal. Don't open carry in tourist areas because you will be met by the cops. In N. Las Vegas, it has to be on your person, whether concealed or not. Do a search for cowboyken here and you'll find a good outline of the local laws.

    G19, G23, P2000 (9mm), LMT Defender 2000 (SOPMOD), Colt LE6920, Ruger 10/22

  5. #4
    Senior Member Array 1911luver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,104
    Thanks for the info man appreciate it.
    Snub nose revolvers,the original concealed carry guns.

  6. #5
    Member Array CowboyKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    376
    This may help:
    ---------------------------
    Nevada law (IANAL):
    Nevada is a defacto open carry state and you may open carry if you choose. If you open carry in the high traffic tourist areas of Las Vegas you may have a visit from Metro or, Casino personnel may/will ask you to leave the property if you open carry in any casino. If anyone in authority in any private establishment asks you to leave you must leave under Nevada's trespass law.

    There is no restriction on having a firearm in your car, open or concealed as long as it is not concealed on your person (unless you have a permit).

    There is statewide preemption, but the Attorney General, on her web-site has indicaded, in the past, that she may not think it applies in all cases.

    If you have a permit that is valid in Nevada:

    Recognition of permits issued by other states:

    Out of State Carry Concealed Weapon Permit Recognition

    Effective July 1, 2009

    In accordance with NRS 202.3689 (effective October 1, 2007) the State of Nevada will recognize the following States' CCW permit holders:

    Alaska
    Arkansas
    Kansas
    Louisiana
    Michigan
    Missouri
    Nebraska
    Ohio
    Tennessee
    West Virginia


    This law allows holders of valid permits from these states to carry a concealed weapon while in the State of Nevada. The permit must be in the possession of the issue at all times while carrying a firearm.

    Please note that Nevada no longer recognizes CCW permits issued by Utah and Florida. For additional information, please refer to the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association press release link: NVSCA CCW Press Release

    CCW Prohibited Locations defined by NRS 202.3673

    Nevada Department of Public Safety

    NRS: CHAPTER 202 - CRIMES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH AND SAFETY

    -----------------------------

    You may carry concealed in Nevada ANYWHERE except:

    Buildings at the airport,
    Schools (including colleges) and child care facilitys,
    Public buildings (that means Government buildings) that are posted or have metal detectors.

    NRS: CHAPTER 202 - CRIMES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH AND SAFETY

    That includes casinos, bars, clubs, restaurants, whorehouses (they are legal in parts of Nevada), ANYWHERE. They may ask you to leave for any reason, or no reason at all, and, under Nevada's trespass law, you must leave.

    You may drink while carrying. The BAC limit is 0.10 (DUI is 0.08, when they lowered it to get federal highway money they did not change the limit for CCW).

    NRS: CHAPTER 202 - CRIMES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH AND SAFETY

    -------------------------------------------------

    I hope this clears up any questions. Nevada laws concerning weapons are, for the most part at NRS 202.253 through 202.369.

    Have fun in Nevada. Bring lots of money.

    Ken


    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Crimes Against the Person NRS: CHAPTER 200 - CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSON

    NRS 200.120 “Justifiable homicide” defined. Justifiable homicide is the killing of a human being in necessary self-defense, or in defense of habitation, property or person, against one who manifestly intends, or endeavors, by violence or surprise, to commit a felony, or against any person or persons who manifestly intend and endeavor, in a violent, riotous, tumultuous or surreptitious manner, to enter the habitation of another for the purpose of assaulting or offering personal violence to any person dwelling or being therein.

    [1911 C&P § 129; RL § 6394; NCL § 10076]—(NRS A 1983, 518)

    NRS: CHAPTER 200 - CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSON

    NRS 200.130 Bare fear insufficient to justify killing; reasonable fear required. A bare fear of any of the offenses mentioned in NRS 200.120, to prevent which the homicide is alleged to have been committed, shall not be sufficient to justify the killing. It must appear that the circumstances were sufficient to excite the fears of a reasonable person, and that the party killing really acted under the influence of those fears and not in a spirit of revenge.

    [1911 C&P § 130; RL § 6395; NCL § 10077]

    NRS: CHAPTER 200 - CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSON

    NRS 200.200 Killing in self-defense. If a person kills another in self-defense, it must appear that:

    1. The danger was so urgent and pressing that, in order to save his own life, or to prevent his receiving great bodily harm, the killing of the other was absolutely necessary; and

    2. The person killed was the assailant, or that the slayer had really, and in good faith, endeavored to decline any further struggle before the mortal blow was given.

    [1911 C&P § 137; RL § 6402; NCL § 10084]

    NRS: CHAPTER 200 - CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSON

    BODILY INJURY

    NRS 200.275 Justifiable infliction or threat of bodily injury not punishable.

    etc.

    Ken

  7. #6
    Distinguished Member Array Squawker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    1,614
    As far as the length of time needed to apply for a CCW permit, a long weekend would do it. You can take the class on a weekend, and apply on Monday.
    Here's the Metro information:
    Any person who meets the following criteria may apply to the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department for a permit:


    •A Nevada resident of Clark County
    •An out-of-state resident who received firearms training in Clark County.
    •21 years of age or older.
    •Not prohibited from possessing a firearm by State or Federal law.
    •Successfully completes an approved firearms course in Clark County (paid for by applicant).

    Pays the appropriate fees consisting of


    1. New application $100.25 - LVMPD
    2. Renewal Application $65.25 - LVMPD
    3. Renewal Application and Late Fee $80.25 - LVMPD
    4. Renewal Application (more than 120 days late) $100.25 - LVMPD



    Applications can be denied for reasons outlined in the Nevada Revised Statutes. Such reasons include:

    •An outstanding warrant of arrest (including Traffic).
    •A felony conviction
    •Judicially declared incompetent or insane.
    •Habitual abuser of drugs or alcohol.
    •A conviction for a violent crime including a misdemeanor.
    •A conviction for domestic violence or stalking.
    •Currently subject to a restraining order, injunction, or other order of protection involving domestic violence.
    •Currently on parole or probation.
    •A pending entry of a felony conviction or recent suspension of a sentence for a felony.
    •Pending criminal charges
    •False statements on the application.
    All applicants must attend and successfully pass a firearms safety course approved by the Sheriff or another allowed by law. All applicants must qualify with the firearm(s) they wish to carry. All fees charged for courses or qualification must be paid by the applicant.

    A Detailed instruction sheet will accompany the application package with a list of approved firearms instructors for courses and weapon qualification.

    Applications

    Applications are available at the following locations:


    Bolden Area Command
    1851 Stella Lake Street
    (Martin Luther King & Lake Mead) Downtown Area Command
    621 N. 9th Street
    Las Vegas, NV 89101 Metro Police Plaza Desk
    City Hall, Plaza Level
    400 E. Stewart Ave.


    Northeast Area Command
    831 N. Mojave
    (Washington & Mojave) Northwest Area Command
    9850 W. Cheyenne
    (Cheyenne & Grand Canyon) SouthCentral Area Command
    4850 Las Vegas. Blvd. South
    (LV Blvd. So.& Russell)

    Southeast Area Command
    3675 E. Harmon Ave.
    (Harmon & Pearl) Enterprise Area Command
    6975 W. Windmill Ln
    (Rainbow & Windmill) Convention Center
    750 Sierra Vista
    (Swenson & Sierra Vista)

    Laughlin Substation
    101 Civic Center Way
    Laughlin, NV Boulder City Police Dept.
    1005 Arizona Street
    Boulder City, NV Henderson Police Dept.
    223 Lead Street
    Henderson, NV


    Mesquite Police Dept.
    500 Hillside Dr.
    Mesquite, NV North Las Vegas Police Dept.
    1301 E. Lake Mead Blvd.
    North Las Vegas, NV Overton Substation
    320 N. Moapa Valley
    Overton, NV



    Applications can also be mailed to out-of-state residents.

    Permits

    Concealed Firearm Permits are valid for a period of 5 years and can be renewed for additional 5 year periods. Applicants must be fingerprinted and investigated. If you are a Clark County resident all firearms listed on the permit must be registered with the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department.

    A permit holder must carry the permit together with proper identification whenever they are in actual possession of the concealed firearm(s). The permit and proper identification must be presented to a peace officer upon request. Failure to produce the permit and proper identification carry a civil penalty of $25.00.

    Carrying a concealed firearm without a permit is punishable by a category C felony.
    ALL COMPLETED APPLICATIONS ALONG WITH THE APPLICANT'S DRIVER'S LICENSE AND APPROPRIATE FEES (MONEY ORDER OR CASHIERS CHECK) MUST BE SUBMITTED IN PERSON AT THE FOLLOWING LOCATION:

    LAS VEGAS METROPOLITAN POLICE DEPT / CCW DETAIL
    5880 CAMERON STREET, LAS VEGAS NV, 89118

    As far as CCW classes, another place that offers the class is The Gun Store, 2900 E Tropicana, which is much more convenient to the south end of the strip than Bargain Pawn. Also, it is a multistate class, and for a few bucks more, you get the packet to apply in Utah and Florida. Here's their link:
    The Gun Store | Concealed Firearms Classes

  8. #7
    Ex Member Array G19inLV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    226
    The Gun Store is no where near the strip. I would go to Bargain Pawn, but that's just me. They are cheaper and you can get Utah's app as well. You can ask for a paper confirming you took the class to send to FL if you need to. All you need is a NRA certified instructor, which Glenn is.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. NY laws / federal laws
    By sixsccw in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 14th, 2010, 10:25 AM
  2. Nevada
    By KG4ZRC in forum General Firearm Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 1st, 2010, 10:24 PM
  3. NM laws vs. Arizona laws
    By TucAzRider in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 10th, 2009, 06:00 PM
  4. Anyone know the Status of Nevada "new" Reciprocity Laws?
    By Timmy Jimmy in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 7th, 2007, 05:15 PM
  5. Hello From Nevada
    By SteveTwo in forum New Members Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: June 11th, 2006, 11:28 AM

Search tags for this page

can i carry a gun in my car in nevada

,
can i carry a gun in nevada
,
can you carry a gun in your car in nevada
,
can you have a gun in your car in nevada
,
carrying a gun in your car in nevada
,

gun laws in nevada guns in car

,
henderson nv gun laws
,
laughlin nevada gun laws
,
nevada gun laws 2012
,

nevada gun laws in car

,
nevada gun laws open carry
,
nevada vs arizona gun laws
Click on a term to search for related topics.