Flying WA to MI

Flying WA to MI

This is a discussion on Flying WA to MI within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'll be traveling to Michigan via Detroit Metro airport. I plan to take my Glock 23 with me from Sea-Tac. All I have to take ...

Thread: Flying WA to MI

Flying WA to MI

I'll be traveling to Michigan via Detroit Metro airport. I plan to take my Glock 23 with me from Sea-Tac. All I have to take it in is the Glock clamshell case. (This is my first time traveling with a handgun)

Because the case has no built-in place to secure a lock, I'm left with the option of using one of the following around the case's handle:

-Long padlock on the handle, then a trigger lock through the padlock to take up the space between the lock base and the case handle.
    -Flexible barrel lock wrapped around the handle 3 times, then secured.

Have any of you had to improvise like this before? I spoke to a TSA rep, who said that it should be fine as long as the case cannot be opened without a key. I think I'll be okay, but would appreciate any advice.

(I called Michigan State Police to get an overview of their laws, and to verify reciprocity for a Washington State CPL.)

Glock in the hold

As a frequent flyer, I've asked many about this and the concensus from TSA and the airlines has been that they cannot and will not take responsibility for the firearm after it has been given to the TSA. Keep in mind that the airlines do NOT offer proper compensation for lost or damaged baggage. I don't trust most of these underpaid government and airline employees. Hope you get there with all of your personal effects.
    "A strong body makes a mind strong. As to the exercises, I advise the gun. While this gives a moderate exercise to the Body, it gives boldness, enterprise, and independence to the mind . . . Let your gun therefore be the constant companion of your walks."
    --Thomas Jefferson August 1785