How Long Before You CC With a Bullet In the Chamber?

This is a discussion on How Long Before You CC With a Bullet In the Chamber? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm New to CC (about a month) and Here ...Hello My question is how long before you loaded a rnd when you first started carrying ...

Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: How Long Before You CC With a Bullet In the Chamber?

I'm New to CC (about a month) and Here ...Hello

My question is how long before you loaded a rnd when you first started carrying ..?
    I have a XD 40 and if something happened i would have to load a rnd first..

Any advice?
    Be Safe Carry Often!
    Springfield XD 40
    NRA Member

Senior Moderator
    Since day one.

A pistol without a round chambered is an expensive club at best.

I'd like you to consider that you might not have both hands available if you ever needed to defend yourself with the pistol. You could be fending off an attack, pulling a loved one out of the line of attack, or even injured and unable to use one hand.

Matt
    Battle Plan (n) - a list of things that aren't going to happen if you are attacked.
    Blame it on Sixto - now that is a viable plan.

I think it was around 2-3 weeks for me.

Somewhere around that time I read a quote that said, "I'm too inexperienced to NOT carry a round in the chamber", meaning with the inexperience of a new shooter, one might not chamber correctly in a high-stress situation. That's a real possibility for a new shooter.

Since you have the XD, you can do a test a friend of mine did: he charged the gun on an empty cylinder, then carried it around for days doing all sorts of extreme physical activities. With the XD's striker indicator, he could tell the gun never fired. Then he started carrying with one in the chamber.