Might be moving to Texas have questions - Page 2

Might be moving to Texas have questions

This is a discussion on Might be moving to Texas have questions within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Yep, if PA accepts your Alaska license, you can get a non-resident permit for $26 and only have to provide a xerox copy of your ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    VIP Member
    Array TX-JB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    5,738
    Yep, if PA accepts your Alaska license, you can get a non-resident permit for $26 and only have to provide a xerox copy of your DL and your CHL. Once you start working in Texas you will be considered a resident and then you will have to wait 6 months before you can apply for a Tx CHL.
    "Texas can make it without the United States, but the United States can't make it without Texas!".... Sam Houston

    Retired LEO
    Firearms Instructor
    NRA Life Member


  2. #17
    Member Array lazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Granbury,TX
    Posts
    57
    see
    TexasCHLforum.com good chl forum
    Texas Gun Talk good texas gun forum
    TexasOnline: Official Portal of Texas The State website

    gonna be hot down down here compared to Alaska, I mean frickin HOT .
    Without CHL
    we can have a gun on our person OC on property we are in control of.
    in your car , must conceal
    proctecting property in daylight is alittle different than at night.
    shootem at night
    CHL takes a while once mailed. I'm still waiting and it's been over 90 days since they recieved my App, :( average it 90-180 dayz
    Glocks

  3. #18
    Member Array i10casual's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    296
    Thanks for the clarification Boss.
    Yeah it will be like your hottest day in Alaska for seven months. You just slow down, don't move as fast as you are use to, and you'll be alright.
    On the plus side you don't have to chip ice away from your car's keyhole to get in.

  4. #19
    Member Array 3dfxMM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    181
    This is all covered by the Motorist Protection Act that became effective in Sept. 1997.
    I believe it was September 1, 2007 when the MPA went into effect.

  5. #20
    Member Array KimBobTex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    452
    SubNine, welcome to Texas if your transfer materializes. Your ?'s are mostly covered by now, but specific to app. timing, my CHL came in 2 weeks ago, took 110 days, 10 days short of 4 months, mailbox to mailbox.

    Mailed 4/29/09, received 8/19/09. It took 6 weeks for the state to get the app. entered into the system for them to even acknowledge they had it & start working on it, per their letter to me dated 6/9/09.

    My app. was "clean" from the git-go, meaning it didn't require any re-submissions of missing or erroneous items.

    A required CHL class conducted by a state approved instructor is $75 - $150, then your TX CHL application fee (non-refundable) is $125.00 & requires a TX driver's license. That may add another month to the process ... count on 5 months if it were today, no telling what it might be next year.

    Good luck, stay safe, hope your job situation works out the way you want. If you decline the job, send me the contact info, I may want to apply for it.

  6. #21
    Senior Member
    Array Camjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    DFW Texas
    Posts
    1,086
    Just a point of clarification on the 51% sales from alcohol: That is actually for business that generate 51% of their revenue from ON PREMESIS consumption.

    I would highly recommend the earlier poster's recommendation of visiting TexasCHLforum.com. It's a great resource.

    Welcome in advance to Texas!

    Cheers!
    One Riot, One Ranger. Long live the Republic of Texas.

    JOIN THE NRA AND DO IT TODAY!!

  7. #22
    Distinguished Member Array SubNine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Anchorage Alaska
    Posts
    1,969
    I do have an Alaska concealed handgun permit which I believe Texas honors. Can I just use that while I wait 6 months to take a Texas state approved handgun course and get the license there?

    Thanks again everyone for the information and advice, this is such a great forum!
    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.

    I am the God fearing, gun toting, flag waving conservative you were warned about!

  8. #23
    Member Array 3dfxMM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    181
    Isn't it $140 for the fee paid to the state?

  9. #24
    Member Array tbmccord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, Texas
    Posts
    265
    According to handgunlaws.us here in this forum, any valid Alaska permit is honored in Texas. You just need to make certain that your move does not render that permit invalid by Alaska law.

    Welcome to Texas!!!
    NRA Instructor

    NRA Endowment Member

    Be a mentor to the youth of our communities.
    Show them the way to shoot for the moon.
    If they miss, push them to reach out for a star.
    If any gang banger punks try to divert their attention...
    show them the light as well.

  10. #25
    Member Array tbmccord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, Texas
    Posts
    265
    Quote Originally Posted by 3dfxMM View Post
    Isn't it $140 for the fee paid to the state?
    The fee to the state is determined by your age, military status, and I believe Law enforcement status.
    NRA Instructor

    NRA Endowment Member

    Be a mentor to the youth of our communities.
    Show them the way to shoot for the moon.
    If they miss, push them to reach out for a star.
    If any gang banger punks try to divert their attention...
    show them the light as well.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. New Mexico CCW moving to Texas
    By sfjack in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 17th, 2010, 02:21 PM
  2. Moving to NC---Questions on transporting my firearms
    By WJP9 in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2009, 01:00 PM
  3. Questions about moving cross country
    By Headshrinker in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 5th, 2009, 01:48 PM
  4. Moving to Texas
    By VTFatBa*d in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: July 1st, 2008, 10:15 PM
  5. Moving To Texas (Maybe)
    By ronwill in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 5th, 2007, 08:37 PM

Search tags for this page

concealed carry permit in louisiana moving to tx
,
i have a louisiana ccw and i'm moving to texas
,
if i move from alaska to texas is my concealed hangun permit transferable
,
info cnll.com.ar loc:us
,
moving to texas with a firearm
,
moving to tx concealed handgun license
,
texas 40.06
,

texas penal code 40.06

,
transfer chl to texas
,
transferring chl to texas
,
tx penal code 40.06
,
valid concealed permit moving to texas
Click on a term to search for related topics.

» Log in

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» DefensiveCarry Sponsors