Florida's Non Resident License vs Louisiana

This is a discussion on Florida's Non Resident License vs Louisiana within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a Louisiana resident and I am about to sign up for my first concealed carry class but was recently told that I could ...

Thread: Florida's Non Resident License vs Louisiana

Florida's Non Resident License vs Louisiana

I am a Louisiana resident and I am about to sign up for my first concealed carry class but was recently told that I could get a non resident Florida License and save some time. Is there any advantage of getting my Louisiana license being that that is the state I reside in of is the nonresident Florida license just as accepted by local law inforcement.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array tiwee's Avatar
    Handgunlaw.us

/Click on Louisiana. Time to get a nonresident Florida permit is 180 days or so.

Senior Member Array preachertim's Avatar
    Travel would be the only problem . Some states do not honor Non resident permits. 1 Example is SC. I have a NR new Hampshire , and it is good all the way to the border of SC
    Why Would A Preacher ever need a Gun? Its Not for the Sheep , its for the Wolves!

Springfield Armory Service XD 40
    Taurus PT 1911 45 acp Taurus PT 101, PT 92
    Ruger 22/45 Ruger P95 9mm, Ruger SR9
    Kahr CW 40, Heritage 22, Rossi 38 special

Quote Originally Posted by DANJA View Post
    I am a Louisiana resident and I am about to sign up for my first concealed carry class but was recently told that I could get a non resident Florida License and save some time. Is there any advantage of getting my Louisiana license being that that is the state I reside in of is the nonresident Florida license just as accepted by local law inforcement.
    I'd check your state's AG website to be sure. While LA may accept FL non-resident permits, it may ONLY be for non-LA residents.