Concealed Carry on a College campus

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry on a College campus within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a masters student at a private college in pa. I have been wondering if it is leagal for me to carry on campus. ...

Thread: Concealed Carry on a College campus

Concealed Carry on a College campus

I am a masters student at a private college in pa. I have been wondering if it is leagal for me to carry on campus. I know you are not allowed to carry in a public school as in a high school or a elementary school, but were do we draw the line.

2. Remove Ads

Quote Originally Posted by gymteach65 View Post
    I am a masters student at a private college in pa. I have been wondering if it is leagal for me to carry on campus. I know you are not allowed to carry in a public school as in a high school or a elementary school, but were do we draw the line.
    Check PA statutes. Some states don't allow carry on any campus (FL, for example) while others don't make it illegal, even though the Univ. Bd of Regents (or whatever you call them) will expel students found with a weapon (even if legal).
    He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliott

The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

You often sign a contract at the beginning of the year if you live in on-campus housing, which states that you will not bring a gun on campus.

It's private, so they can enforce whatever rules on guns they want. Read the "student manual." If there's nothing about guns, then treat it like any other private establishment that you can carry in.

Distinguished Member Array AKsrule's Avatar
    Howdy from Hallstead!

PA Uniform Firearms Act

§912. Possession of Weapon on School Property.