Anatomy of a violent encounter...

This is a discussion on Anatomy of a violent encounter... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So, another thread on this forum got me thinking about the actual anatomy of a violent encounter and the theory and skill set involved in ...

Thread: Anatomy of a violent encounter...

Anatomy of a violent encounter...

So, another thread on this forum got me thinking about the actual anatomy of a violent encounter and the theory and skill set involved in each step. I am not an expert on violent action, but I thought I'd start something and see if we can't collaborate towards developing a full theory of violent encounters and some resources for learning more. If this has already been done (anywhere), just point me that direction. If you think of additional steps or books that address anything here, I'd love your input.

Pre-encounter:

1. Observe - Situational Awareness
    2. Orient - realize that a violent encounter is actually happening (denial, rationalization, etc.) - "The Gift of Fear" by Gavin de Becker

Encounter:
    3. Decide - how will I respond and with what tool?
    4. Act - what weapons do I have (and should I have) at my disposal (rifle, pistol, knife, pepper spray, keys, hands and feet, pickle jar, etc.)? How do I increase my skills with these tools?
    5. Reloading - how many rounds are expended in the average gunfight? how many expended in the most extreme gunfights?
    6. Transitioning between weapons - gun to knife, etc.

Post-Encounter:
    7. First-aid
    8. Communication to LE - whoever calls 911 first wins. You also have a right not to self-incriminate, but what do you actually say? - YouTube - Dont Talk to Police
    9. Surrendering a firearm used in SD to LE - special considerations?
    10. Communication to counsel and legal considerations - retaining counsel ahead of time and how to pick a gun lawyer