Concealed Carry in Montana

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry in Montana within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi All, I have been all over the Internet trying to find some details regarding a sort of detailed question about concealed carry in Montana. ...

Thread: Concealed Carry in Montana

Hi All, I have been all over the Internet trying to find some details regarding a sort of detailed question about concealed carry in Montana. I am currently a resident of Washington but will be a resident in Montana in about a year. Time to leave the big city life. So here are my questions.

1. I know that I am covered in Montana with my Washington carry permit. Is it legal in Montana for me to carry concealed in a vehicle if I have a passenger that has been convicted of a felony in Montana about 10 years ago?

2. In the future when I move to Montana and have a Montana issued carry permit can I carry in a vehicle when I have a passenger that has been convicted of a felony in Montana about 10 years ago?

The reason I ask is that I have an old friend who lives in Montana that was convicted in the past of fraud. Long story but they pleaded no contest and a felony conviction was passed down to them Not a violence felony or anything like that. I am just curious to know if I am within the laws eyes if we are riding together in a vehicle. If anyone could point information to me it would be appreciated.

Thank you

Distinguished Member Array nutz4utwo's Avatar
    first place to start is: Handgunlaw.us

Read both Washington's and Montana's. It is a good idea to look up the laws directly as well (and the above website will tell you where...)

I don't see what your friend being a felon has to do with you carrying. As long as you don't let them have possession of your firearm I don't see an issue. I wouldn't leave it locked in the car and let them borrow my keys either.

just me .02 cents... I am not a lawyer