Teaching the "Newbies"

Teaching the "Newbies"

This is a discussion on Teaching the "Newbies" within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have not been carrying for long, but after joining this forum I feel I have learned a lot. I DO NOT think I am ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Teaching the "Newbies"

Teaching the "Newbies"

I have not been carrying for long, but after joining this forum I feel I have learned a lot. I DO NOT think I am an expert, as I am assuming no one here feels they are. I do have a military background and at the least understand weapons handling. In the next few months I plan on finding a defensive carry course which me and my 2 friends can attend.

I got my CCP shortly after a friend of mine got his. He does not carry daily for personal reasons which I feel are not important here. I am trying to teach him all I can, and he more than wants to learn how to properly carry. He even just bought himself his first semiauto since he has been carrying a small J-Frame since he got his CCP . Though I still cant convince him he needs to remember to wear a belt all the time, not to mention buy a few t-shirts that fall a little lower than what he has been wearing.

My second friend just bought his first S&W M&P Compact .40 and applied for his CCP. He too does not understand the concept of dressing around the gun.

Lastly, we were in the local gun shop and I pointed out some good holsters for them to look at. I was with my dad and he wanted to get a move on the range time. We went in, and my cheap buddies went and bought Uncle Mike's holsters. I dont want to bad mouth these products, but I pointed out good leather holsters for them.

My question is, how can I get through to these guys?
    Just remember: When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.